How we make money: This page has no affiliate, referral, or paid links. We earn nothing if you keep, downgrade, or close any card named here. If we ever add a paid link, it will be labeled "Paid link" right next to it, and this box will change. Card terms change often, so check the issuer's site before you act. Not every card or issuer is covered here.
Independent site: PointFam is an independent site for families who use cards and points for travel. It is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by the U.S. Department of Defense or any branch of the U.S. military. Views are the author's own.
Not advice: Nothing on this page is legal, tax, or financial advice. Issuer policies are not law, and they can change without notice. Confirm your own dates with each issuer in writing.
Last verified: October 5, 2026. Every fee, window, and policy below links to the page we checked that day.
This guide is in PointFam's military families section, one of several sections on a site for families who use cards and points for travel.
This page is for you if you are 6 to 24 months from separating or retiring, or if you are the spouse who keeps track of the household wallet. You probably hold one or more premium cards that have not charged an annual fee while you have been on active duty. You want to know what happens next, and when.
Our household holds the Amex Platinum, Chase Sapphire Reserve, Hilton Aspire, Chase Sapphire Preferred, Delta SkyMiles Reserve, and Citi Double Cash. I am a service member planning our own exit the way this page lays out: get written dates from each issuer, then decide keep, downgrade, or cancel before any fee posts.
This is not a "close everything" guide. It is a dated timeline, a month-by-month checklist, and a short decision tree for each card. The short version: fee relief does not end the day your paperwork is final, and the one issuer that publishes its process (American Express) promises written notice first.
The printable 2026 transition checklist is on this page (month-by-month section below). Print this page if you want a paper copy. A printable PDF version and email updates are not available yet.
Confirm before you count on it
These items are not settled on a public issuer page. Call or write before you plan around them.
- Hilton Aspire fee relief matching Platinum: Amex's FAQ covers consumer Amex accounts generally; there is no Aspire-only military page. Call 1-866-391-1460.
- Chase post-separation fee timeline: No public Chase page states a fixed month count after release. Call Chase Military Services at 1-877-469-0110 (or 1-318-340-3308 internationally) and ask for a written date.
- Chase MLA annual fee waiver (including the reported Sept 20, 2017 cutoff): based on reports, not an official issuer page. Get it in writing from Chase.
- Chase SCRA benefits "for up to one year post-active duty": based on reports, not an official issuer page (The Military Wallet).
- Citi annual-fee waivers, MLA fee treatment, and post-separation benefit duration: not stated on Citi's SCRA page. Call the Military Response Unit at 877-804-1082.
- Citi MLA fee outcomes: reports conflict (denials and successful credits). Treat as possible, not reliable.
- Authorized-user / Additional / Companion fee relief under MLA or SCRA: not stated on the Amex FAQ or Chase SCRA page. Call the issuer.
- Sapphire Reserve product-change destinations (Preferred vs Freedom): Chase publishes the product-change concept only. Ask Chase which destinations your account qualifies for.
Quick answer: fees do not vanish the day you get a DD214
Fee relief on military accounts follows your covered status while on active duty, not your status as a veteran. Under the Military Lending Act, coverage stops once you are no longer a covered borrower (10 U.S.C. 987; 32 CFR Part 232, 232.2(a) and 232.3(g)). SCRA interest relief on credit cards lasts "during military service" (50 U.S.C. 3937, (a)(1)(B)).
That does not mean fees post the next morning. American Express says that when relief is ending, "you will receive a notification letter at least 45 days prior to the date relief ends on your account," and then it "will resume charging any applicable fees" (Amex SCRA and MLA FAQ). The same wording covers both SCRA and MLA relief (Amex FAQ).
What that means in practice:
- Do not close cards on separation day. Wait for the issuer's written notice or a written answer from the issuer.
- Use the time you have. Credits you would use anyway are still worth using while the card is open.
- Get dates in writing. Chase and Citi do not publish a post-separation timeline on the public pages we checked (see the Chase and Citi sections).
SCRA vs MLA in plain English (why open date matters)
The date you opened each card decides which rule applies. There are two laws, and each one works differently.
| SCRA | MLA | |
|---|---|---|
| Which accounts | Credit you took on before entering active duty (50 U.S.C. 3937, (a)(1)) | Consumer credit taken while you are a covered member, plus covered dependents (10 U.S.C. 987; 32 CFR 232) |
| What the law caps | Interest at 6% per year. Interest above 6% is forgiven, not deferred (50 U.S.C. 3937, (a)(1) to (a)(3)) | Military Annual Percentage Rate (MAPR) at 36% in any billing cycle (10 U.S.C. 987, (b); 32 CFR 232.4(b)) |
| Do fees count | Yes. "Interest" includes "service charges, renewal charges, fees, or any other charges (except bona fide insurance)" (50 U.S.C. 3937, (d)(1)) | Issuers may leave a bona fide, reasonable card fee out of the MAPR (32 CFR 232.4(d)) |
| How you get it | You send written notice plus orders (or another appropriate indicator of service). Or the creditor can check Defense Manpower Data Center records (50 U.S.C. 3937, (b)) | Amex: "MLA relief is applied to eligible Card accounts at the date of account opening. Enrollment is not required" (Amex FAQ) |
| Deadline to ask | No later than 180 days after release from service (50 U.S.C. 3937, (b)(1)(A)) | None. Coverage is set when the account is opened (32 CFR 232) |
Many articles skip this point: neither law, on its own, requires a card issuer to charge you a zero annual fee. The MLA rule lets issuers exclude a bona fide, reasonable fee from the 36% calculation. The rule's own example says "a $400 fee nevertheless may be reasonable" depending on the credit line and benefits (32 CFR 232.4(d)(3)(iv); see also FDIC FIL-37-2015).
So the waivers military families talk about are issuer policy layered on top of the law. An issuer can change them without any change in law. Build your exit plan on what each issuer tells you, not on a blog's summary.
One more nuance. Amex's FAQ never uses the words "$0 annual fee." It describes fees "not charged while your account was eligible for relief" and says fees resume afterward (Amex FAQ). The "$0 out of pocket" phrasing comes from third-party sites such as The Points Guy, not an official issuer page.
How to check covered-borrower status
- DoD MLA website. Issuers check status against the DoD's MLA database at mla.dmdc.osd.mil. You can run a Single Record Request there, but the site now says "An account is required to use the Single Record Request" (MLA website).
- Your Amex agreement. Amex says "You can determine if you are a 'covered borrower' at the bottom of Part 1 of your Card Member Agreement" (Amex FAQ). Amex also notes the MLA database does not include service academy cadets, NOAA, or Public Health Service members (Amex FAQ).
- Spouses. Dependents can be covered borrowers under the MLA (10 U.S.C. 987). Before you separate, make sure the household's dependent records are current, so each spouse account is reviewed against accurate data. For DEERS, dual-primary Platinum caps, and the spouse MLA checklist, see Military Spouse Credit Cards: MLA, DEERS, and Getting Your Own Premium Card.
Timeline graphic: the dates that matter
Fill in your own release date as "Day 0." Every other date is fixed by statute, published by the issuer, or something you need to get in writing.
| Marker | What happens | Set by | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Account open date | Decides SCRA path (opened before active duty) or MLA path (opened while covered) | Law | 50 U.S.C. 3937; 10 U.S.C. 987 |
| While you are covered | Amex applies MLA relief at opening with no enrollment. SCRA relief on pre-service accounts must be requested | Amex policy | Amex FAQ |
| Day 0: release from active duty | You fill this in | You | n/a |
| Amex: at least 45 days before relief ends | Amex mails a notification letter (SCRA and MLA) | Amex policy | Amex FAQ |
| Amex: date relief ends | Amex "will resume charging any applicable fees" | Amex policy | Amex FAQ |
| Amex: annual fee bills | Fee becomes nonrefundable 30 days after it is billed (the FAQ notes a Massachusetts exception) | Amex policy | Amex FAQ |
| Day 0 + 180 days | Last day to send SCRA written notice for pre-service debt. This is a deadline to ask, not a 180-day extension of relief | Statute | 50 U.S.C. 3937(b)(1)(A); CFPB SCRA overview |
| Chase lane | Get written date from Chase. No public Chase page states a post-separation timeline | Unknown | Chase SCRA page |
| Citi lane | Get written fee timeline from Citi. Official SCRA page: request benefits during active duty or within one year of release. Fee end dates: see confirm box | Ask Citi | Citi SCRA page |
Last verified: October 5, 2026. Sources: Amex SCRA and MLA FAQ and 50 U.S.C. 3937.
About the 180 days. This deadline only matters if you have an account opened before active duty and never asked for SCRA relief. Amex says SCRA requests can be made "from start of active duty up to 180 days after they leave active duty," and relief applies back to your active duty start date (Amex FAQ). If that describes one of your cards, send the request well before Day 180.
American Express: what the official FAQ says happens when relief ends
Amex publishes more of its process than any other issuer we checked. From the Amex SCRA and MLA FAQ, checked October 5, 2026:
- MLA relief is automatic at opening. "MLA relief is applied to eligible Card accounts at the date of account opening. Enrollment is not required." Also: "No action is required from you for MLA relief."
- SCRA relief is for pre-service accounts, and you have to request it. Requests can be made up to 180 days after you leave active duty. Amex says "'Interest' for SCRA purposes includes fees such as annual membership fees, late fees, and returned payment fees."
- Eligibility is checked against DoD data. Amex checks eligibility against DoD records at application and "periodically reviews" accounts for continued eligibility.
- Notice before fees resume. A letter "at least 45 days prior to the date relief ends," then Amex "will resume charging any applicable fees." The same wording appears in both the SCRA and MLA sections.
- No "$0" wording. The FAQ does not say "$0 annual fee." Treat any page that quotes Amex that way as based on reports, not an official issuer page.
- Phone. Amex lists 1-866-391-1460, Monday to Sunday, 7 am to 11:30 pm ET (collect from outside the U.S.: 1-336-393-1111).
What the fee looks like after relief. The Platinum Card's Basic Card fee is $895. Additional Platinum Cards are $195 each, and Companion Platinum Cards are $0 (Amex Platinum page). The Hilton Honors Aspire card's annual fee is $550, and Additional Cards are $0 (Amex Aspire page).
Amex's SCRA/MLA FAQ describes consumer Amex accounts generally. There is no Aspire-only military page. See the confirm box for the Aspire call.
We use the Platinum and the Aspire in our household. When Amex's relief-ending letter arrives, plan from the FAQ language above, and use your own written dates. Someone else's letter on a blog is not your timeline.
After the Amex letter: 30-day fee refund window
Amex's FAQ says the annual membership fee is "nonrefundable 30 days after being billed," with a Massachusetts exception noted on the FAQ (Amex FAQ, "Why was I billed an annual membership fee?").
In practice, you get two windows:
- Planning window: the time between the 45-day letter and the date relief ends.
- Last decision window: the first 30 days after a fee posts.
If an $895 Platinum fee posts and you have not decided, decide inside those 30 days. Call the number on the back of the card and ask about your options before the window closes.
Chase: what is official vs what is reported
What Chase says publicly. Chase's SCRA page lists "Reduction of Interest Rate," foreclosure and repossession protection, and early auto lease termination. Chase Military Services is 1-877-469-0110 (Monday to Friday, 8 AM to 9 PM ET), and 1-318-340-3308 internationally (Chase SCRA page).
What Chase does not say publicly. We found no official Chase page that states an MLA annual-fee waiver or a fixed post-separation grace period (re-checked October 5, 2026). Chase's military hub page does not mention it, and a Chase cardmember agreement we reviewed contains the standard MLA notice but no fee-waiver language.
What others report. Several sites report that Chase waives annual fees for cards opened on active duty after September 20, 2017 (Military Money Manual, Military.com; based on reports, not an official issuer page). One site says Chase SCRA benefits apply "for up to one year post-active duty" (The Military Wallet; based on reports, not an official issuer page). None of these link to a Chase page that says so. See the confirm box before you plan around a Chase month count.
What the fee looks like after relief. Chase Sapphire Reserve is $795, plus $195 per authorized user (Chase Sapphire Reserve page).
We use the Sapphire Reserve and the Sapphire Preferred. See the confirm box for Chase Military Services and the written-date ask.
Downgrade paths commonly used (product change, not advice)
If you decide the Reserve is not worth $795 to your family, a product change keeps the account open instead of closing it. Readers commonly describe two paths:
- Sapphire Reserve to Sapphire Preferred. The Preferred's annual fee is $95 (Chase Sapphire Preferred page).
- Sapphire Reserve to a Chase Freedom card as a place to keep points. Chase's public product pages list a $0 annual fee for Freedom Unlimited, Freedom Flex, and Freedom Rise (Freedom Unlimited, Freedom Flex, Freedom Rise; last verified October 5, 2026).
Chase publishes a general guide to switching credit card products (Chase product-change guide). That page does not list which destinations your Sapphire Reserve qualifies for. There is no public eligibility matrix for a product change into a specific Freedom card (or Preferred). See the confirm box before you count on either path.
Citi: keep it short, get it in writing
Our household Citi card is the Citi Double Cash. For fee relief, Citi is still hard to plan around, even with a readable SCRA page.
- Official SCRA page (readable in a full browser). Citi's SCRA page says you can request SCRA benefits "at any time during the service member's active-duty service period or within one year of release from active duty service." Call the Military Response Unit at 877-804-1082.
- What the page does not settle. It does not state annual-fee waivers, MLA fee treatment, or how long benefits last after separation. Get those fee timelines in writing.
- Reports conflict on MLA fee treatment. Military Money Manual reports both denials and successful "MLA FEE/INT CREDIT" outcomes on Citi accounts (MMM Citi MLA page; MMM Strata Elite page; not an official issuer page). Treat Citi fee relief as possible, not reliable.
- What to do. See the confirm box for the Military Response Unit number and the written-fee-timeline ask. We will not publish a Citi fee grace period that Citi itself has not published.
Keep, downgrade, or cancel: decision tree
Run this once per card, after you have a written end date from the issuer. Start with two quick checks, then answer three questions in order.
Start here: Has the issuer told you, in writing, when relief ends?
- No. Keep the card open for now. Keep using credits you would use anyway. Call for a written date. Come back when you have one.
- Yes. Go to the Amex check, then Question 1.
Amex check: Did an annual fee post on this card less than 30 days ago?
- Yes. Decide now. Amex says the fee becomes nonrefundable 30 days after it is billed (Amex FAQ). Run Questions 1 to 3 today.
- No, or not an Amex card. Go to Question 1.
Question 1: In the last 12 months, did the credits you actually used add up to more than the fee you are about to pay?
Count only what you used, not what the card offers. For reference, the fees are $895 for Platinum (Amex), $795 for Sapphire Reserve (Chase), $550 for Aspire (Amex), and $595 for Citi Strata Elite (Citi).
- Yes, clearly. Keep, and set a reminder to recheck in 12 months.
- No, or close. Go to Question 2.
Question 2: Are this card's points already moved, or safe on a card you will keep?
-
No. Downgrade first (or move points if your program allows it). Move or redeem before you close, then confirm the balance on the logged-in account. New York and other edge cases can differ from the general rules. Here are the program rules we checked:
- Amex Membership Rewards: If you cancel your Membership Rewards Account and do not have another MR-eligible Card or Checking Account, unredeemed points are forfeited immediately. New York may have a 90-day redeem window after notice (see MR Terms). Keep another linked Product to preserve points (Amex MR cancel FAQ; Amex MR Terms).
- Chase Ultimate Rewards: Points do not expire while the account is open. Move points to another open Chase UR card before closing. For ordinary closure, the Rewards Program Agreement gives at least 30 days from the close date to use points; unused points are then lost unless law requires statement-credit conversion (Chase UR expire FAQ; Chase Rewards Program Agreement).
- Citi ThankYou (Double Cash T&Cs): If you voluntarily close or convert away from ThankYou, use points within 60 days or lose them. If Citi closes for inactivity or converts you: 60 days. If Citi closes for other reasons: immediate loss (Citi Double Cash ThankYou T&Cs).
- Hilton Honors: No eligible activity in any 24 consecutive month period means forfeiture of accumulated Points (terms effective July 15, 2026). Canceling a cobrand card alone is not listed as an instant wipe; the activity rules still apply (Hilton Honors terms).
-
Yes. Go to Question 3.
Question 3: Is this one of your oldest accounts, or do you have a booked trip that relies on this card's travel insurance?
- Yes. Downgrade to a lower-fee card in the same family so the account stays open. If a booked trip relies on this card's travel insurance, check the lower-fee card's Guide to Benefits before you product-change. Coverage often differs by product, and a downgrade does not guarantee the same trip insurance.
- No. Cancel or downgrade. Either is reasonable. Closing a card can raise your credit utilization ratio and may lower your score (CFPB Ask CFPB: closing a credit card). We will not guess at score changes.
Default if you are unsure: keep the account open until the issuer's notice arrives, then decide inside the notice window.
A post-service filter for our household. For us, the Platinum is the first card I would plan to downgrade or cancel after separation. What happens to the Sapphire Reserve, Aspire, Preferred, and the rest depends on whether we stay in the Reserves or Guard and on our lifestyle, not a fixed keep list. After the tree, I would also ask: am I staying in the Reserves or Guard, or going fully civilian, and how often will we travel after service? Run it once you have written end dates, not before. We track credits by memory plus the issuers' apps. No spreadsheet.
Family / spouse checklist (household wallet)
Many military households have two primary cardholders, not one cardholder plus an authorized user. That changes the plan.
- Each primary account is its own decision. Under the MLA, dependents of covered members can be covered borrowers (10 U.S.C. 987; 32 CFR 232). Each spouse's account is reviewed and notified on its own. Reader reports describe spouse letters arriving on a different schedule from the member's (Military Money Manual; individual reports online, not an official issuer page). Do not assume one letter covers both of you.
- Authorized users are cheaper to unwind, but not free. On Platinum, Additional Platinum Cards are $195 each and Companion Platinum Cards are $0 (Amex Platinum page). On Sapphire Reserve, authorized users are $195 each (Chase Sapphire Reserve page). Whether those authorized-user fees are relieved on your account while you are covered is not stated on the pages we checked. See the confirm box; check your statement.
- List every card in one place. Use one row per card: whose name, open date, SCRA or MLA, annual fee, points balance, and autopays attached. The printable checklist below has the fields.
- Move autopays before you close anything. Streaming, phone, insurance, and childcare autopays often sit on the premium card.
- Keep it private. If you share your plan in a forum or group, leave out unit, base, kids' names, and real travel or move dates.
Two primary accounts vs add-on cards. If two adults each hold their own primary Amex Platinum Card Account, each account has its own per-Card-Account statement credit caps. Additional Card and Companion purchases share that account's caps; they do not create a second full set of credits. MLA fee relief for an eligible spouse who opens their own primary while the member is on active duty is issuer policy; the law and the Amex FAQ do not say the fee is $0. For the full dual-primary walkthrough, DEERS checklist, and spouse MLA steps, see Military Spouse Credit Cards: MLA, DEERS, and Getting Your Own Premium Card.
2026 printable checklist (month-by-month before separation)
12 months out
- List every card in the household with its open date and whether it falls under SCRA or MLA (50 U.S.C. 3937; 10 U.S.C. 987).
- Check the bottom of Part 1 of each Amex Card Member Agreement for your covered-borrower status (Amex FAQ).
- Screenshot each card's current benefits page and note the date. Benefits change.
- Write down each card's annual fee anniversary month.
6 months out
- Call Chase Military Services (1-877-469-0110) and the Citi Military Response Unit (877-804-1082). Ask when fee treatment ends on each account. Ask for the answer by secure message (Chase SCRA page; Citi SCRA page).
- Call Amex (1-866-391-1460) if you have questions about a specific account (Amex FAQ).
- If any card was opened before active duty and never had SCRA relief, request it now. You have until 180 days after release, but there is no reason to wait (50 U.S.C. 3937; Amex FAQ).
- Make sure household dependent records are accurate so spouse accounts are reviewed correctly.
3 months out
- Run the decision tree for each card. Write the answer next to the card.
- Use credits you would use anyway before they reset or the card changes.
- Decide where points will live long term. Ask each issuer what happens to points on downgrade or closure.
1 month out
- Move autopays off any card you plan to close.
- Transfer or redeem points on any card you plan to close.
- Watch the mail and your secure-message inbox for relief-ending letters. Amex sends one at least 45 days before relief ends (Amex FAQ).
After release (Day 0 onward)
- Note Day 180, the last day to send SCRA notice for pre-service debt (50 U.S.C. 3937).
- When an annual fee posts on an Amex card, decide within 30 days (Amex FAQ).
- Carry out your keep, downgrade, or cancel decisions. Save confirmation numbers.
Fields for each card (printable version)
| Card | Whose name | Open date | SCRA or MLA | Annual fee | Fee month | Points balance | Written end date from issuer | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keep / Downgrade / Cancel |
The checklist and field table above are on this page. Print this page if you want a paper copy. A printable PDF version and email updates are not available yet.
FAQ
Does retired or veteran status keep the fee relief? Generally no, under how the laws are written. MLA coverage applies to covered borrowers and stops once you are no longer one (10 U.S.C. 987; 32 CFR 232). SCRA interest relief on credit cards lasts during military service (50 U.S.C. 3937). Any extra time after separation is an issuer choice. Ask each issuer.
Should I close cards the week I separate? Usually not. Amex says it sends a letter at least 45 days before relief ends (Amex FAQ). For Chase and Citi, get a written date first. Closing early just gives up benefits you could still use.
What if I get an Amex letter while I am still on orders? Contact Amex right away. The Amex FAQ asks you to send updated orders within two weeks of the letter (Amex FAQ). SCRA also accepts "any other appropriate indicator of military service, including a certified letter from a commanding officer" as proof of service (50 U.S.C. 3937(b)).
Does the law require a $0 annual fee while I am on active duty? No. The MLA lets issuers exclude bona fide, reasonable card fees from the 36% MAPR (32 CFR 232.4(d)). Fee waivers are issuer policy, and issuers can change them.
I opened a card before active duty. Is it too late for SCRA relief? Not if you are still within 180 days of release. After that, the statutory window has passed (50 U.S.C. 3937(b)(1)(A)).
After active duty: what changes, and related reading
Once relief ends, every card on your list becomes a normal card with a normal annual fee: $895 for Platinum (Amex), $795 for Sapphire Reserve (Chase), $550 for Aspire (Amex), and $595 for Citi Strata Elite (Citi). The question shifts from "is it worth my time?" to "is it worth the fee?"
For our household, the Platinum is the first card I would plan to downgrade or cancel after separation. What we keep after that comes from the filter above (Reserves or Guard status and lifestyle, plus how often we actually travel), not a fixed list. For many families the honest answer is one premium card, or none, plus a lower-fee card to hold points.
Related reading:
- Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve for Families: Lounges, Trip Insurance, and Credits Worth the Hassle (includes a section for fee-relieved military households)
- Military Spouse Credit Cards: MLA, DEERS, and Getting Your Own Premium Card
Sources
All checked October 5, 2026. Official sources come first, then the secondary sources we flag in the text.
Official (law and government)
- 50 U.S.C. 3937 (SCRA interest cap): https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/50/3937
- 10 U.S.C. 987 (MLA): https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/10/987
- 32 CFR Part 232 (MLA rule): https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-32/subtitle-A/chapter-I/subchapter-M/part-232
- FDIC FIL-37-2015 (MLA rule summary): https://www.fdic.gov/news/financial-institution-letters/2015/fil15037.pdf
- DoD MLA website: https://mla.dmdc.osd.mil/
- CFPB SCRA overview: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/consumer-tools/military-financial-lifecycle/the-servicemembers-civil-relief-act-scra/
- CFPB Ask CFPB, does closing a credit card hurt credit: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/does-it-hurt-my-credit-to-close-a-credit-card-en-1231/
Official (issuers)
- Amex SCRA and MLA FAQ: https://www.americanexpress.com/us/help-support/service-members-civil-relief/
- Amex Platinum Card: https://www.americanexpress.com/us/credit-cards/card/platinum/
- Amex Hilton Honors Aspire: https://www.americanexpress.com/us/credit-cards/card/hilton-honors-aspire/
- Chase SCRA page: https://www.chase.com/digital/military/scra
- Chase Sapphire Reserve: https://creditcards.chase.com/rewards-credit-cards/sapphire/reserve
- Chase Sapphire Preferred: https://creditcards.chase.com/rewards-credit-cards/sapphire/preferred
- Chase Freedom Unlimited: https://creditcards.chase.com/cash-back-credit-cards/freedom/unlimited
- Chase Freedom Flex: https://creditcards.chase.com/cash-back-credit-cards/freedom/flex
- Chase Freedom Rise: https://creditcards.chase.com/cash-back-credit-cards/freedom/rise
- Chase product-change guide: https://www.chase.com/personal/credit-cards/education/basics/switching-credit-card-products
- Amex Membership Rewards cancel FAQ: https://www.americanexpress.com/us/customer-service/faq.cancel-membership-rewards-program.html
- Amex Membership Rewards Terms: https://www.americanexpress.com/us/rewards/membership-rewards/terms/
- Chase Ultimate Rewards expire FAQ: https://www.chase.com/personal/credit-cards/education/rewards-benefits/do-credit-card-points-expire
- Chase Rewards Program Agreement (example CSP RPA0551): https://asset.chase.com/content/dam/card/rulesregulations/en/RPA0551_Web.pdf
- Citi Double Cash ThankYou T&Cs: https://www.citi.com/CRD/PDF/DoubleCashThankyouTC.pdf
- Hilton Honors Terms: https://www.hilton.com/en/hilton-honors/terms/
- Citi Strata Elite card page: https://www.citi.com/credit-cards/citi-strata-elite-credit-card
- Citi Strata Elite benefits article: https://www.citi.com/credit-cards/credit-card-rewards/citi-strata-elite-benefits
- Citi SCRA page: https://online.citi.com/US/nga/military-servicemembers-civil-relief-act
Secondary (flagged in text)
- The Military Wallet, after-military fee waivers (based on reports, not an official issuer page): https://themilitarywallet.com/what-to-do-with-fee-waived-credit-cards-after-military/
- Military Money Manual, leaving the military (based on individual reports online, not an official issuer page): https://militarymoneymanual.com/credit-cards-retire-separate-leave-military/
- Military Money Manual, Chase Sapphire Reserve military (based on reports, not an official issuer page): https://militarymoneymanual.com/chase-sapphire-reserve-military/
- Military Money Manual, Citi MLA (based on reports, not an official issuer page): https://militarymoneymanual.com/citi-military-credit-cards-mla/
- Military Money Manual, Citi Strata Elite (based on reports, not an official issuer page): https://militarymoneymanual.com/citi-strata-elite-military/
- Military.com, 2026 travel cards (based on reports, not an official issuer page): https://www.military.com/money/best-travel-credit-cards-for-active-duty-military-in-2026
- The Points Guy, Amex Platinum active duty (based on reports, not an official issuer page): https://thepointsguy.com/credit-cards/amex-platinum-active-duty-military/